A brief history of Longwood University, with introduction by Dr. James Jordan. In ”Longwood University: The First 175 Years,” Barbara Shepard has given us a labor of love that chronicles Longwood’s unusual – indeed unique – journey from seminary and private women’s college to the thriving co-educational public university it is today.
Henry Willett Jr
Written by past president of Longwood University Dr. Henry Willett, "The history of Longwood House" was initially written in the fall of 2002, but published in 2004 following the dedication of Brock Commons.
This history is reprinted from The Iron Worker, Autumn 1955, published by the Lynchburg Foundry Company, Lynchburg, Virginia. It has been revised slightly for this printing, dated January 1957
Printing is not supported at the primary Gallery Thumbnail page. Please first navigate to a specific Image before printing.