## **Longwood University**

## Digital Commons @ Longwood University

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

**Faculty Senate** 

8-25-2006

## Faculty Senate Minutes 2006.08.25

**Longwood University** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/facultysenate\_meetings

## Opening Faculty Meeting August 25, 2006 Hiner 207

Dr. Brock-Servais called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. The minutes (attached to the agenda) were approved as distributed.

Dr. Brock-Servais called for nominations for a faculty representative to the Board of Visitors. Dr. Challender nominated Ms. Sharon Menegoni. The nomination was seconded, and there were no other nominations. Ms. Menegoni was elected.

Dr. Webber, reporting for the Faculty Status Committee, explained that the committee handled grievances for the faculty (see the committee description in the *FPPM*). He introduced this year's chair, Dr. Rená Koesler, who introduced continuing member Dr. Bill Harbour and new members Dr. Craig Challender, Dr. Doug Dalton, and Dr. Lisa Kinzer. Alternates are Dr. John Arehart, Dr. Pam Arkin, Dr. Ruth Meese, and Dr. Cheryl Adkins.

Dr. Brock-Servais called on Dr. Robert May who presented three proposed amendments to the Senate By-laws (attached to the agenda) and moved, on behalf of the By-laws Committee, the adoption of Amendment 1. The amendment passed. He moved the adoption of Amendment 2 and it passed. He moved the adoption of Amendment 3 which also passed.

Dr. Brock-Servais recognized Dr. de Laforcade who spoke about the importance of student involvement in the events of the Global Democracy Conference. He urged faculty to include pertinent activities in their syllabi and to consult with the project's curriculum committee, Dr. Orth, Dr. Smith, Dr. Tracy, and Dr. de Laforcade, about possible tie-ins for their classes. He announced an essay contest for students with a cash prize and an opportunity to present at the conference. (For the topic and details, see the information on the conference website at longwood.edu/democracy.)

Dr. Brock-Servais introduced Dr. Wayne McWee who welcomed the faculty and talked about the AAC retreat which focused on encouraging student involvement in the Democracy project. There is now a comprehensive list of campus events available under Events Calendar on the Academic Affairs page. He encouraged faculty to incorporate at least one event as part of their classes. He introduced Dr. James Cross, Interim Dean of the College of Business and Economics, and then called on Dr. Tim Pierson who introduced Dr. Sally Scott, Associate Professor of Special Education and Director of Disability Services. Dr. Geoffrey Orth introduced new appointments in Academic Affairs: Dr. Pam Tracy in charge of the Longwood Seminar, Dr. Claire McCoy, General Education, Dr. Larissa Smith, assistant director of the Honors Program, and Dr. Carl Riden and Dr. Wade Edwards, co-directors of Women's and Gender Studies.

For the College of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Ross introduced Amy Edmunds Agyeman, Lecturer in Communication Studies Brian C. Cho, Lecturer in Biology Rodney B. Dunning, Assistant Professor of Physics Steve P. Faulkner, Assistant Professor of English

Esther Liu Godfrey, Assistant Professor of British Literature

Susan A. Hildebrandt, Assistant Professor of Spanish

Jason S. Milne, Instructor in Sociology

Rebecca S. Nelson, Associate Professor of Mathematics

Melissa S. Panzarellor-Koger, Assistant Professor of Costume Design, Shop Manager

Inyong Park, Lecturer in Physics

William Plail, Lecturer in English

Lara L. Plate, Lecturer in English

Heather Lettner-Rust, Lecturer in English

Russell Schweller, Lecturer in English

Scott J. Senn, Lecturer in Philosophy

Jennifer L. Sheeler, Lecturer in English

Natalia Smelkova, Lecturer in Biology

Ginger Spivey, Lecturer in Art

Susan C. Stinson, Lecturer in English

Gena D. Southall, Assistant Professor of English Education

Glenn E. White, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Ross also announced new chairs: Dr. Melissa Rhoten, Department of Chemistry and Physics,

Dr. Eric Laws, Department of Psychology, Dr. Brian Bates, Department of Sociology and

Anthropology, Dr. Mc Amoss, Department of English and Modern Languages, and Dr. Charlie Kinzer, Department of Music.

For the College of Business and Economics, Dr. Cross introduced

Steven A. Samaras, Assistant Professor of Management

Mary Martinez, Instructor in Military Science

For the College of Education and Human Services, Dr. Jones introduced

Philip A. Gapinski, Assistant Professor of Health Education

Matthew D. Lucas, Assistant Professor of Physical and Health Education

William C. Thomson, Assistant Professor of Physical Education/Pedagogy

Cynthia Schmidt, Assistant Professor of School Library Media

Dr. Michele Smith, Office of Professional Services

For the Library, Mr. Wendell Barbour introduced

Tammy Hines, Assistant Professor of Library Science

Mark Lenker, Assistant Professor of Library Science

Dr. McWee also announced that Dr. Jones had been recognized as outstanding alumna of the year by Texas A&M University.

After a reminder that Senators from the departments represent the faculty in those departments and a reminder about the Honors ceremonies, Dr. Brock-Servais adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.

Susan May