## Longwood University Digital Commons @ Longwood University

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

**Faculty Senate** 

4-26-2007

## Faculty Senate 2007.04.26

Longwood University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/facultysenate\_meetings

Faculty Senate Meeting

April 26, 2007

## Library 147 A&B

Dr. Brock-Servais called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The following members were present:

Dr. Cheryl Adkins

Dr. Mc Amoss

Mr. Wendell Barbour

Dr. Sarah Bingham

Dr. Chris Bjornsen

Dr. Bill Burger

Dr. Linwood Cousins

Dr. Jim Cross

Dr. Jackie Hall

Dr. Bill Harbour

Dr. Deneese Jones

Dr. Stephen Keith

Dr. Ed Kinman

Ms. Virginia Kinman

Dr. Chrystyna Kosarchyn

Dr. Robert Lynch

Dr. Sue McCullough

Dr. Wayne McWee

Dr. Ruth Meese

Ms. Sharon Menegoni Dr. Don Merkle Dr. Keith Rider Dr. Charles Ross Dr. Larissa Smith Dr. Pam Tracy Ms. Kathy Worster Dr. Linda Wright

Members not attending were Mr. Martin Brief, Dr. Dennis Malfatti, Dr. Melanie Marks, Dr. Jeffery Peden, and Dr. Tim Pierson. Mr. Phineas Dowling represented SGA. Also present were Dr. Micah McCreary and Dr. Geoffrey Orth.

The minutes were approved as distributed.

Dr. Brock-Servais first introduced reelected Senators Dr. Ed Kinman, Dr. Larissa Smith, and Dr. Ruth Meese and then newly elected Senators Dr. Jennifer Apperson, Dr. Vonnie Colvin, Mr. Roy Creasey, Dr. Sue Hildebrandt, Ms. Tammy Hines, Dr. Debra Kelley, Dr. Jim Riley, and Dr. David Shoenthal. Also elected to the Senate are Dr. Kelly Nelson and Dr. Bennie Waller.

Dr. May, reporting for Dr. Lisa Kinzer, chair of the Faculty Status Committee, announced the new committee members, Dr. Michelle Perry and Dr. Bob Webber, and the continuing members, Dr. Craig Challender, Dr. Doug Dalton, and Dr. Lisa Kinzer. Alternates are Dr. Martha Cook, Dr. Lee Bidwell, Dr. Jennifer Apperson, and Dr. Patricia Lust. Dr. Kinzer will announce the chair at the opening faculty meeting in August.

Ms. Sharon Menegoni presented the EPC report, information items only this month, and she commented on the committee's year-end report and the number of changes processed.

Dr. Brock-Servais called for questions or comments on the annual reports. Dr. Rider noted the good suggestions for the future in a number of the reports and wanted to be sure that future committees would pick up on the suggestions. The reports will remain in the archives of the Senate web page, and Dr. May will make sure that the committees are aware of them.

Dr. Brock-Servais called on Dr. McWee to address assessment issues. He talked about the "value added" mandate from the state, explained that the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is working on the mathematical reasoning competency measurement at the current time, and that it will be submitted to state council who will sent it to two sister

institutions for review and comment. The plan will come back to the Department for revision if necessary before being sent to a national committee for final review. Longwood has asked for \$500,000.00 to support the competency evaluations in six areas, oral communication, written communication, mathematical reasoning, scientific reasoning, critical thinking, and a sixth yet to be specified but having to do with computer literacy.

In the course of the meeting elections were conducted for the Executive Committee members for the coming year. Dr. Tracy nominated Dr. Amoss for the office of chair. There were no other nominations and Dr. Amoss was elected by acclamation. Dr. Hall nominated Dr. Wright for the office of deputy chair. There were no other nominations and Dr. Wright was elected by acclamation. Dr. Kinman nominated Dr. Rider as an at large member of the committee, and Dr. Tracy nominated Dr. Apperson. Dr. Rider was elected. Dr. Bingham nominated Dr. Cousins as an at large member. There were no other nominations, and Dr. Cousins was elected by acclamation. Dr. Hall nominated Dr. Cousins as an at large member. There were no other nominations, and Dr. Cousins was elected by acclamation. Dr. Hall nominated Dr. Apperson as an at large member, and with no other nominations she was elected by acclamation. (She will resign as alternate to the Faculty Status Committee in order to serve on the Senate Executive Committee.)

Dr. Brock-Servais called on Dr. Merkle who moved the approval for graduation of all those candidates who have successfully completed the requirements for their degrees. The motion was seconded and <u>passed</u> unanimously.

Dr. Smith moved adjournment. The motion was seconded and Dr. Brock-Servais adjourned the meeting at 4:05 p.m.

Susan May