Longwood University

Digital Commons @ Longwood University

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-10-1995

Faculty Senate Minutes 1995.05.10

Longwood University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/facultysenate_meetings

Longwood College Faculty Senate Minutes

May 10, 1995

Dr. William Harbour, Chair, called the Longwood College Faculty Senate to order at 2:35 P.M. in the Prince Edward Room, Ruffner. The following members were present:

Dr. Lee Bidwell
Mr. Mark Baldridge
Dr. Pat Barber
Dr. David Carkenord
Ms. Linda Cranston
Dr. Berkwood Farmer
Dr. Mary Flanigan
Dr. William Frank
Dr. Robert Gibbons
Dr. Judith Johnson
Dr. Patricia Lust

Ms. Phyllis Mable
Dr. Susan May
Ms. Kristine Palmer
Dr. Jeffery Peden
Dr. Darryl Poole
Dr. Charles Ross
Dr. Robert Sawyer
Dr. Ellery Sedgwick
Dr. Pat Shank
Dr. Betty Jo Simmons

Dr. Robert Wu Dr. Douglas Young

The following members were absent: President William Dorrill

Mr. Richard Hurley

Dr. Harbour presented the schedule of Senate and general faculty meetings for the 1995-1996 academic year; the schedule will be distributed shortly to the faculty.

The Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs will distribute minutes and announcements, and Dr. Poole will look into possibilities for secretarial assistance. The Senate concurred with the suggestion that the Registrar meet with and record minutes for the Committee on Educational Policy.

Dr. Harbour distributed and explained the 1995-1996 committee assignments made by the Executive Committee and the appointments were ratified by consensus. Susan May was named chair of the Ad Hoc Committee to Study Faculty Work Load.

After a discussion concluding that curricular matters needing action before July 1 should be routed through the Council Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 3:20 P.M.

Lectar H. Mar Acting secretary